Using Voip For Beginners

• Thread starter Thread starter anilsaxena
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 3
  • Views Views 3,331

anilsaxena

ISP
mtnl
Forgive me if I am sounding stupid or if I am in wrong forum.I am a 58 year old newbie. My children live abroad and I talk to them using VOIP services. Uptill now I was using a voip provider called voicecheap.com, on MTNL broadband connection installed in my home. I had downloaded their dialer software, purchased credit through a credit card, and was using this with a headphone and mic connected to PC. It was giving good service. Then someone told me that if I bought an ATA, I could make voip calls using my phone, without using PC. I then got a Linksys PAP2 ATA. It is an unlocked device (which means that I should be able to use it with any VOIP service provider). My big problem is that I do not know how to use this device and configure it.I have been provided a ADSL router (modem) by MTNL of chinese (perhaps Huwei or some similar sounding make). It is having one serial and one USB port. I use serial port to connect it to my PC. THE USB port is unused.While trying to use Linksys PAP2, I connected the serial cable from router (modem) to ATA's serial port (instead of PC, which is normally done). I connected a phone and power supply to ATA. Then as per instruction manual I dialled **** on phone, it replied by voice "configuration menu". Then I dialled 110#, and it replied IP number is 192.168.1.3 After That I am at a dead end, not knowing what to do further. Will some kind member explain the entire procedure in simple langauage, with all steps involved. There was no CD or driver provided with ATA.My VOIP provider has given follwing information for using a sip device.SIP port:5060, registrar:sip.voipcheap.com, Proxyserver: sip.voicecheap.com, Outbound proxy server: Leave empty, Account name: my username, password: my password, displayname: username, stun server: stun.voipcheap.comPlease give all information in si