Telnet To Quidway Wa1003a

simon.george

Newbie
Messages
49
Hi All, I am using the BSNL Dataone Home 900 UL Plus connection with Quidway WA1003A router. Router ip address is 192.168.1.1 and I am able to get in to the web configuration page of modem. Is it possible to configure the modem using telnet (in the documentation of the product its written telnet is possible) when I tried to do telnet 192.168.1.1 it showing the prompt as "busy box login" and its asking for the user name and password its not authenticating by my router username and password. Any help is appreciated.RegardsSimon
 

seshu

Listener
Regulars
Messages
1,254
^ I am not responding to your query at present .I am curious to know why you need a telnetcontrol for your modem ... how it it useful in getting better speeds ...
 

simon.george

Newbie
Messages
49
QUOTE(seshu @ Aug 23 2006, 06:59 PM) [snapback]59669[/snapback]
^ I am not responding to your query at present .
I am curious to know why you need a telnet
control for your modem ... how it it useful in
getting better speeds ...
[/b]


I am doing CCNA so it would be better if i can do telnet interface configuration on the device morove the increasing speed is not related with this
 


seshu

Listener
Regulars
Messages
1,254
if you are unable to telnet into your modem then most probably a firewall / antivirus is blocking it . so disable firewall / antivirusand try for it . And pls respond back here after your trial .
 

simon.george

Newbie
Messages
49
QUOTE(seshu @ Aug 23 2006, 09:20 PM) [snapback]59688[/snapback]
if you are unable to telnet into your modem
then most probably a firewall / antivirus is
blocking it . so disable firewall / antivirus
and try for it . And pls respond back here
after your trial .
[/b]


Are you talking about the software firewall like symantec,if it is i dont use any of them.But inside router i do see a firewall and it is on..
 

seshu

Listener
Regulars
Messages
1,254
windows XP has a built in firewall . check it .And did you try username : root ; password : admin ?(change password if you have changed it)
 


simon.george

Newbie
Messages
49
QUOTE(seshu @ Aug 24 2006, 05:44 AM) [snapback]59735[/snapback]
windows XP has a built in firewall . check it .

And did you try username : root ; password : admin ?
(change password if you have changed it)
[/b]


Xp filewall is off but i havent tried the user name root and password admin

I tried u name-admin and password admin i will try and let you know
 

bsnluser

Regular
Regulars
Messages
138
QUOTE(Simon George Mandy @ Aug 23 2006, 06:23 PM) [snapback]59660[/snapback]
I am using the BSNL Dataone Home 900 UL Plus connection with Quidway WA1003A router. Router ip address is 192.168.1.1 and I am able to get in to the web configuration page of modem. Is it possible to configure the modem using telnet ...
[/b]

This is very interesting. I wanted to try the same thing. Moreover, my eventual objective is to try to examine the modem configuration remotely (from the WAN side), if possible. Some routers that I have used (USR, dlink, etc.) have an option of 'remote management'. With this one can logon to the router from a public IP address to a particular port of the router. If telnet is possible on quidway WA1003a, then it may be faster than a web interface given the slow upload speed of the dataone connection that we have.

Would you great if you could continue to post your progress in this matter.
 

simon.george

Newbie
Messages
49
QUOTE(bsnluser @ Aug 24 2006, 09:19 PM) [snapback]59821[/snapback]
This is very interesting. I wanted to try the same thing. Moreover, my eventual objective is to try to examine the modem configuration remotely (from the WAN side), if possible. Some routers that I have used (USR, dlink, etc.) have an option of 'remote management'. With this one can logon to the router from a public IP address to a particular port of the router. If telnet is possible on quidway WA1003a, then it may be faster than a web interface given the slow upload speed of the dataone connection that we have.

Would you great if you could continue to post your progress in this matter.
[/b]

Remote management and telnet is possible its clearly mentioned in the specifications but you should have public ip if want to do Remote management .

QUOTE(bsnluser @ Aug 24 2006, 09:19 PM) [snapback]59821[/snapback]
This is very interesting. I wanted to try the same thing. Moreover, my eventual objective is to try to examine the modem configuration remotely (from the WAN side), if possible. Some routers that I have used (USR, dlink, etc.) have an option of 'remote management'. With this one can logon to the router from a public IP address to a particular port of the router. If telnet is possible on quidway WA1003a, then it may be faster than a web interface given the slow upload speed of the dataone connection that we have.

Would you great if you could continue to post your progress in this matter.
[/b]


both are possible as per the official documentaion

see this http://www.huawei.ru/files/documentation/7...et%20wa1003a%22

page number 8
 

simon.george

Newbie
Messages
49
QUOTE(Simon George Mandy @ Aug 24 2006, 05:43 PM) [snapback]59799[/snapback]
Xp filewall is off but i havent tried the user name root and password admin

I tried u name-admin and password admin i will try and let you know
[/b]



Hi I am able to login with root and admin i have some doubts please see the images




This is the result when i do a telnet to (192.168.1.1 my router ip)
seeing the images are you people really thinking i am inside the router...

The same results will come if telnet to my public ip also ( i got my public ip thru the site www.whatismyip.com)
 

Similar threads


Top