Tata Sky Upgraded From MP2 to MP4 Broadcast?

mikesingh

My TS HD STB suddenly switched to SD from HD. I clicked on the User Settings and noted that the 'TV Type' button had changed itself to 'SD' from 'HD'. I tried to change it back to 'HD' but it refused to budge. The HD channels though available on the HD STB, were all in SD! I've been watching Tata Sky HD on my 42in Panasonic HDTV since the last one year though I had been using TS SD before that since the last many years.

I contacted the service center, Chennai for this problem and I came to know that Tata Sky have changed from MPEG2 to the MPEG4 format. I don't know whether this was the reason for my problem. The engineer said he would be sending a mechanic to check it out - probably some adjustments required in the HD STB. (I tried everything but nothing seemed to work!)

But where reception is concerned, I don't find any difference in this changeover to the MP4 format. Do any of you guys notice any improvement?

Now I have to wait for a couple of days for a mechanic to come and sort out my HD problem. I wonder if this was due to the changeover? Anyone having the same problem?

Cheers!
Mike.

IndianMascot

Addicts
Let me clarify you buddy. Compression technologies are MPEG2 and MPEG4 . MPEG-2 digital compression technology, transmitting using INSAT 4A at 83.0°E.Until Satellite is changed, Compression Technology remains the same. Either Call Centre guy have misguided you or you would have misunderstood him. Regarding the error of your STB, it may be some technical fault or software up gradation would have happened. So, let engineer visit and rectify the error.

Jignesh

Regulars
@ TopicTata Sky uses MPEG-4 DVBS2 for HD channels and MPEG-2 Compression for SD channels.

devx101

Senior