• Replies Replies 14
  • Views Views 1,948

amish

Star gazer
I got banned!
ISP
MTNL Mumbai BB_600 @12mbps
I have ZERO knowledge on soldering but I wanted to learn soldering from years

I never had any reason to learn but now I have got a reason to learn it.

Basically I used wrong screw driver for opening my laptop and I stripped two screws. (They have gone completely round and wont open with any screw driver)

I saw one of the videos on youtube which uses soldering trick to open stripped screw.

As per video, I require:
1) Soldering gear
2) De-Soldering braid

So can anyone suggest me good soldering kit which I can buy online and has all of above?

On flipkart, I see one worth 299Rs .. easy electronics - 6 in 1.

It has 25W specification.. what is it?

Hope it would not be very risky on laptop screw.

I am trying to do it myself because the service center guy nearby asked me 1250Rs!!! 😀

Reference video to open stripped screw is: (hope it wont be tough)

Source

All you need is a soldering iron and soldering wire. I simply use a blade to clean the surface or to remove any solder if needed. i use one from MetroQ 30w. Get one with a pointed tip instead of flat.

Upvote 0
Goto any watch shop around your house. He would open it up for you for 10 bucks. Also see how soldering works first hand.

Upvote 0
Watch shop people have soldering irons and have experience in opening up tiny screws in watches. Laptop screws are much larger in size.

Upvote 0
But I doubt they would have expertise in opening stripped screw

My screw is almost like this.

stripped.jpg

Upvote 0
@amish I have never used gloves or anything ever .. just bare hands 🙂
wattage basically decides how hot it gets and which type of solder it can melt.