Remotely accessing an HDD connected to the router through FTP without a Static IP

• Thread starter Thread starter mrweirdgupta
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 25
  • Views Views 3,602
ISP
Airtel
Hi guys

I am a non-tech person and very new to the forum. I am trying something new and need the help of the experts here. I am a total noob, so kindly bear with me. I have attached the links to various references that I used while creating my set up, in case if that is of any help.

I have an Airtel XStream Fiber Connection. The modem/router that I have is the Nokia G-2425G-A

Inspired by the setups of some people with Airtel connections on YouTube, I tried connecting a USB Hard Disk to my router. I used the USB functionality and successfully enabled the FTP server. Image Link

Now, while I have been able to do this locally, I was hoping to access this HDD remotely too.

From what I have discovered using videos on YouTube (and a little reading and minimal understanding thereof from the IBF), I discovered that I need a static IP for that. I am a student, and a ₹200 additional expenditure for me is not feasible. Further reading told me that I can divert the requirement for a static IP using a DDNS service like No-IP.

I created a No-IP account too and enabled the DDNS application too. I entered the correct info into the router gateway after 2-3 rounds of verification, to the best of my knowledge. Image Link

After this I enabled the Port Forwarding application. Image Link

As far as I understand, I have done each and every step correctly, yet when I try to check the ports online, it shows that the port (21) is closed.

I don't know if this is how it works, but I tried the ping command on CMD - ping <<my WAN IPv4 address of the form 100.xx.xxx.206>> and it showed request timed out. Same with my Public IP too (the one that I can Google)

Based on my minimal understanding of things so far, I think I am going wrong somewhere with the DDNS thing.