PPPOE mode trouble: in portforwarding as BSNL automatically assigns dynamic IP address

  • Thread starter ridam
  • Start date
  • Replies: Replies 34
  • Views: Views 16,730
E

essbebe

MODERATOR
Messages
9,792
Location
NA
ISP
BSNL
@/members/ridam/Will be very much helpful to other users, if you can post the screen shot/s of the modem pages for setting Port Forward. Please confirm you accessed the Advanced settings of modem/router from the "update software" menu or otherwise. You can blank any IP details, as you wish. Thanks.
 
S

sa1

Newbie
Messages
10
Location
NA
ISP
BSNL

Changing to Bridge mode is not an option as I prefer PPPOE mode due to
firewall provided automatically by BSNL and much more security...
and last time when I was in BRIDGE mode.......I had 140 viruses in my computer!!! but now I have none....so
:(:p

Is it true that PPPOE mode is more secure ? For all I know it is actually less secure bcoz your username and password is in the router[ instead of your head] and thus your account is easier to hack into.
I use bridge mode myself and have not had a single virus infection since I switched to broadband. (I use avast! antivirus and comodo firewall 3).
 
S

superprash2003

Regulars
Messages
1,928
Location
NA
ISP
bsnl dataone
both have their advantages and disadvantages
 
O

onlytest

Regulars
Messages
499
Location
New Delhi
ISP
MTNL Freedom 800 Combo
Is it true that PPPOE mode is more secure ? For all I know it is actually less secure bcoz your username and password is in the router[ instead of your head] and thus your account is easier to hack into.
I use bridge mode myself and have not had a single virus infection since I switched to broadband. (I use avast! antivirus and comodo firewall 3).

i agree with you. no problem since april 2006 (my first bsnl broadband connection)
 
R

ridam

Newbie
Messages
35
Location
NA
ISP
Bsnl
@/members/ridam/
Will be very much helpful to other users, if you can post the screen shot/s of the modem pages for setting Port Forward. Please confirm you accessed the Advanced settings of modem/router from the \"update software\" menu or otherwise. You can blank any IP details, as you wish. Thanks.





"In siemens SL2_141 modem type II wireless" router homepage
ie..if u type
192.168.1.1 in the URL
the modem home page will come up......but
.there's no tab or button through which portforwarding, Nat..Virtual sever........and DMZ.etc could be accessed............so you have to use either hyperterminal or telnet..........for port-forwarding.


I used hyperterminal..........

here's the link...............this is a detailed info about how to use hyperterminal....applies to all broadband users...and all modem users

https://broadbandforum.co/bsnl-broadband/24368-configuring-modem-manually/

here's my lan snapshot in the router homepage ie.......
192.168.1.1




http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/5637/yohf9.jpg
http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/5637/yohf9.8048e14e34.jpg



and here's the screenshot of my network properties..
which acn be accessed by

start>settings>controlo panel>network or network properties.....

http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/2368/dekstopaj6.jpg
http://img80.imageshack.us



http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/1616/dnsor4.jpg
[url=http://g.imageshack.us/g.php?h=98&i=dnsor4.jpg][IMG]http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/
 
E

essbebe

MODERATOR
Messages
9,792
Location
NA
ISP
BSNL
@/members/ridam/ Thanks for the screen shots.
Request :pplease see this device info of beetel 220 Bx.
http://i22.tinypic.com/152byh3.jpg
Can you confirm the Board ID and etc for siemen's Sl141 modem.Most of the pages seem same . IF sl141 is a wireless /modem/router there could be changes in the Board ID and . FW version.
Suggestion : Can you try to open In IE 192.168.1.1/main.html and see
whether any new options in Menu ? or under Firmware update ?
Thanks.
 


S

superprash2003

Regulars
Messages
1,928
Location
NA
ISP
bsnl dataone
@essbebe i think the only way to portforward in siemens Nokia modem is via telnet..right?i mean you cant do it via the router's config page right?
 
E

essbebe

MODERATOR
Messages
9,792
Location
NA
ISP
BSNL
members/superprash2003/That is what users having this modem have reported. I am on a wild goose chase ! Please wait for comments from @ridam.
 
R

ridam

Newbie
Messages
35
Location
NA
ISP
Bsnl
essebebe I tried to open that page

http://192.168.1.1/main.html

and it opened!!!

but normally it doesn't open...........

there it has that advance tab you were talking about........
but i think you cannot count on that to open up every time........
so the link I gave on how to use hyperterminal........could be used easily
for port-forwarding in this type of siemens SL2_141 wireless type II modem........
https://broadbandforum.co/bsnl-broadband/24368-configuring-modem-manually/


here's the snapshots from the modem pages....but it may not oprn again.....:)

http://imageshack.us
http://g.imageshack.us/g.php?h=220&i=dmzyt4.jpg

http://imageshack.us
http://g.imageshack.us/g.php?h=220&i=virtualserversaj2.jpg


http://imageshack.us
http://g.imageshack.us/g.php?h=220&i=porttriggeringxg6.jpg

I dont know what you mean by board ID and firware version??

tell me i may be able to help then
 
S

superprash2003

Regulars
Messages
1,928
Location
NA
ISP
bsnl dataone
cool.. this makes port forwarding a lot more easier.. are you sure it doesnt come everytime? try 3 or 4 times and let us know!!!
 
E

essbebe

MODERATOR
Messages
9,792
Location
NA
ISP
BSNL
I dont know what you mean by board ID and firware version??
Thank you very much for the screen shots.
This modem is almost identical to Beetel 220 BX. To check that out , please post the Device status page. use same 192.168.1.1/main.html
You can also try 192.168.1.1/html/index1.html
report +ve or failure. ( given for a Beetel 440BX wireless router same problem. )
https://broadbandforum.co/airtel-broadband/28572-airtel-beetel-440txi-wi-fi-modem-nat-problem-plzz-help/
http://i22.tinypic.com/152byh3.jpg for beetel 220 BX

@/superprash2003/ If you can access the Advanced options through Telnet or Hyperterminal, It means the setting pages are available in the modem/router. So how to access it directly, by laymen,/beginners is the problem and BSNL does not seem to have /blocked/modified the modem/router or their tender would have specified this. to reduce 50 paise in the total cost of each unit !!!
Probably this is done to deny access to all and sundry.
 
R

ridam

Newbie
Messages
35
Location
NA
ISP
Bsnl
BoardID: 96338W Software Version: 1555_070607-3.08L.BSNL_02. Bootloader (CFE) Version: 1.0.37-8.7 Wireless Driver Version: 3.131.35.6.cpe2.0a.s
here's all you needed essebebe


and superprash.........the thing is that..........
since i went to
http://192.168.1.1/main.html

i bookmarked the page........and it's opening everytime i click!!

previously it would show only a blank screen,,,,,,,,

so my advise to all users is.......try to open
http://192.168.1.1/main.html

if it shows blank screen.......try again and again

when it finally comes up......

..bookmark the page.......and you would be able to view it afterwards.........for port-forwarding and other stuffs

well i'm not hundred percent sure but it's happening in my case atleast.with mozilla:thumbsup:
 
E

essbebe

MODERATOR
Messages
9,792
Location
NA
ISP
BSNL
/members/ridam/ seems to be similar beetel 440BXi wIfi model If you don't clear the cache, this problem arises sometimes.Also you could try in IE.or You can also try 192.168.1.1/html/index1.html .Para two : If you post the screen shots of the Advanced options , it will help so many others . And it will be uploaded in IBF WIKI.
 
R

ridam

Newbie
Messages
35
Location
NA
ISP
Bsnl
essebebe i've already uploaded screen shots of the advance region....see DMZ, Virtual serve, port triggering..........in the above of this page and the earlier page.what else...........tell me then.......