linux bsnl broadband connection problem

arai

Newbie
[OP]
Feb 3, 2006
7
0
i installed linux. i use bsnl broadband (utstarcom UT300R2). i am not able to use the internet. pls help me. :huh:
 

arai

Newbie
[OP]
Feb 3, 2006
7
0
Originally posted by pmontu@Feb 3 2006, 06:34 PM
instal xp
[snapback]41254[/snapback]
[/quote]

:eek: i have xp and internet works fine. but in linux internet is not working. any suggestions. :D
 


arai

Newbie
[OP]
Feb 3, 2006
7
0
Originally posted by webDEViL@Feb 3 2006, 07:59 PM
it works fine on linux for me. i tried it on redhat, freebsd without problems.
[snapback]41259[/snapback]
[/quote]

i pinged and it is pinging in the command prompt of linux but i am not able to browse the sites. what would be the problem ? using winxp i am able to connect without any problem.
 

aniketvb

Linuxguy
Regulars
Oct 2, 2005
465
0
Put your modem/router in bridge mode and use pppoe to connect.BTW it will be better if you tell which linux you are using.
 


arai

Newbie
[OP]
Feb 3, 2006
7
0
Originally posted by aniketvb@Feb 3 2006, 08:58 PM
Put your modem/router in bridge mode and use pppoe to connect.

BTW it will be better if you tell which linux you are using.
[snapback]41265[/snapback]
[/quote]

ubuntu 5.10

// i pinged and it is pinging in the command prompt of linux but i am not able to browse the sites. what would be the problem ? using winxp i am able to connect without any problem.
 

arai

Newbie
[OP]
Feb 3, 2006
7
0
Originally posted by arai@Feb 3 2006, 10:02 PM
ubuntu 5.10

// i pinged and it is pinging in the command prompt of linux but i am not able to browse the sites. what would be the problem ? using winxp i am able to connect without any problem.
[snapback]41270[/snapback]
[/quote]


i am now connected to the net via firefox but i am not able to connect via gaim and other applications. only firefox accesses the internet. donno why other applications dont connect to the net. any solutions for this?
 

aniketvb

Linuxguy
Regulars
Oct 2, 2005
465
0
How do you connect in WinXp??Tell me exactly how you do in in WinXp , I will tell you the corresponding steps in Ubuntu.
 

arai

Newbie
[OP]
Feb 3, 2006
7
0
Originally posted by aniketvb@Feb 5 2006, 10:57 AM
How do you connect in WinXp??
Tell me exactly how you do in in WinXp , I will tell you the corresponding steps in Ubuntu.
[snapback]41380[/snapback]
[/quote]

in winxp, i dont do anything. after installation of winxp, when i open firefox / internet explorer i get internet automatically. i just dont do anything there in winxp.
 

Similar threads