I M Using My Friends Login Account For Internet.help....required.

din4204u

Newbie
Messages
10
hi i m having 256kbps p[lan with 400 mb day time limit and night unlimited.but during day time i use my friends home999 256kbps unlimited plan login details(i have to change the modem setings everytime i use his id and password).i want to know:- will i be billed during the day while using his unlimited id and password?????
 

seshu

Listener
Regulars
Messages
1,254
you will not be charged for using your friends
account . However it is considered as not legal .

However , I'd suggest to keep a written consent
from your friend to defend yourself if required ...
 

NeoeN

Newbie
Messages
28
QUOTE(seshu @ Jan 4 2007, 10:15 PM) [snapback]73342[/snapback]
However it is considered as not legal .[/b]

Is it now?
I dont remember signing any forms tellin me not to use others UN n PW. If it does come up in court ill obiviousily play as the lame duck and point my finger at Airtel for not educating me. =P If its not signed and agreed, then it just doesnt exist. No need to talk about GK, coz some of us aint got any lolz (eg : me).
Rather than that, the thing that im worried about it, with the method mentioned above, does Airtel log our modem seiral number's or something to back track? I dont think so. If i used my friends login, and did some "mischeif" who's gonna get balmed me or my friend?
But i do reckon it gets logged in at the local DSLAM's not too sure how Airtel's network operates.

Regards,
NeoeN
 


jason717

Newbie
Messages
5
its better to ask ur frnd for permission..i m sure he wil let u use it .coz if he complains to the ISP u r in serious trouble.regards,jason
 

din4204u

Newbie
Messages
10
yah offcource i m having his permission.....but have you guys practically checked about the billing.as i m worried as i have downloaded more then 4gb from his unlimited account.i have day limit of 400mb.if i will be charged for the 4gb(rs 1.40 per Mb)...it come around rs6000.i will be doomed.........
 

NeoeN

Newbie
Messages
28
Isnt there any way you can check your usage online? By loggin in to AirtelBB website?NeoeN
 


winger

Newbie
Regulars
Messages
56
You don't need a written statement if that's 'really' your friend and you use it with his consent.. They aren't gonna question ya.
 

anshu

Newbie
Regulars
Messages
65
No issues dinu bhai, airtel is binding ports of each & every customer to servers & when it'll be complete, you can not login from your DSL line by using any other's User ID & Password. if you wil, you will get error 691 & CC also will not help you regarding this as seshu said it is Illegal
 

vebk

Mr. Advocate
Regulars
Messages
2,231
Location
New Delhi
QUOTE(NeoeN @ Jan 5 2007, 01:08 PM) [snapback]73415[/snapback]
Is it now?
I dont remember signing any forms tellin me not to use others UN n PW. If it does come up in court ill obiviousily play as the lame duck and point my finger at Airtel for not educating me. =P If its not signed and agreed, then it just doesnt exist. No need to talk about GK, coz some of us aint got any lolz (eg : me).
Rather than that, the thing that im worried about it, with the method mentioned above, does Airtel log our modem seiral number's or something to back track? I dont think so. If i used my friends login, and did some "mischeif" who's gonna get balmed me or my friend?
But i do reckon it gets logged in at the local DSLAM's not too sure how Airtel's network operates.

Regards,
NeoeN[/b]
Ok there's one thing that you need to understand straight off - ignorance of the law is not a defence. And nobody made me "sign any forms" telling me not to steal someone's wallet, but it is still is a theft. Oh and let's not forget you have just made an admission that you know that what you are doing is not right on a public forum. So you have just created evidence against yourself if you were to ever be sued (though do see below).

QUOTE(Airtel Buddie @ Jan 8 2007, 08:45 AM) [snapback]73734[/snapback]
No issues dinu bhai, airtel is binding ports of each & every customer to servers & when it'll be complete, you can not login from your DSL line by using any other's User ID & Password. if you wil, you will get error 691 & CC also will not help you regarding this as seshu said it is Illegal [/b]
I don't think it would be illegal as much as contravening the Terms of Contract with Airtel, in which case the only recourse Airtel would have is to blacklist you, disconnect your connection and never give you a connection again. I doubt they can prosecute you for any kind of criminal or civil suit.
 

din4204u

Newbie
Messages
10
QUOTE(vebmetal @ Jan 8 2007, 02:23 PM) [snapback]73798[/snapback]
Ok there's one thing that you need to understand straight off - ignorance of the law is not a defence. And nobody made me "sign any forms" telling me not to steal someone's wallet, but it is still is a theft. Oh and let's not forget you have just made an admission that you know that what you are doing is not right on a public forum. So you have just created evidence against yourself if you were to ever be sued (though do see below).
I don't think it would be illegal as much as contravening the Terms of Contract with Airtel, in which case the only recourse Airtel would have is to blacklist you, disconnect your connection and never give you a connection again. I doubt they can prosecute you for any kind of criminal or civil suit.[/b]



wel i dont care about anything.it doesnt matter if it is illegal or not.it doesnt matter to me if they will bind port or not.
the point is that i m connected to internet during the day time with my friend's unlmited 256kbps login codes....will i be charged or not?????
as somebody told me that i will be charged as airtel billing is based on the data transfered by your no....regardless of what your user account is.
the user account is mere necessory for login to the internet.but again when i used the userid of my other friend who is having home699 plan and gets around 12KBps on his line......i got only 12 KBps too.so if the billing system is based on my telephone no....then why i got 12KbBs on using home 699 128kbps unlimited userid.i shuld have got 256kbps as i m having a turbo 256kbps plan.

thats what i m askng you guys.,...if anyone of you have ever checked it practically.
regards.
 

Top