Help! Modem Config In Linux Using 220bx Adsl2+

• Thread starter Thread starter ambar
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 6
  • Views Views 3,332

ambar

hi all
i am a linux newbie so plz bear with me! i use a 220bx modem with adsl2+ technology.
i have configurred my modem in winxp . now i want to do the same in linux( red hat linux 9).i found it quite easy in xp , just filling in the fields and setting up a dialer (pppoe)with password and username.

i similarily tried fiiling the required forms in linux too .

here is the configuration( 560 kb)!. i have included image files so that it wud be easy to figure out the errors in configuration!

one more thing all 4 lights on 220bx modem are on but stiill the connection doesnt get activated on pressing "activate" button!
plz suggest if i need to do suthing else too

thanks........ 🤔 🤔

Last edited by a moderator:
Well got your problem....You have to create 2 connections in the network config window...First delete all your connections...then...1]New ->select type"ethernet->here you have to enter the 192.168.xx.xx address and the subnet mask that you entered in the xDsl config.Keep DNS and gateway blank in this config. Then click Ok and save.2]again New-> select type "Xdsl" ->here just enter the username and password. Keep Ip address settings as Automatically Obtian Via "Dialup". Also check obtain DNS entries from provider. Again click Ok-> and save. It will ask you to reastart computer..but there is no need. Now just activate the interfaces..firts the ethernet and then the Xdsl .