Fedora ADSL Connection Problem

bheemarjun

Newbie
[OP]
Mar 24, 2006
3
0
Hi all,I am facing a problem in connecting to INTERNET in LINUX mode (FEDORA CORE 3). I am having Huawei SmartAX MT882 ADSL router from BSNL. It is working fine under WINDOWS XP.In Linux, I ran adsl-setup and entered the neccessery info. After that I ran (as instructed) ifup ppp0 and after a minute or so got an error saying:adsl_start: line 217: 1534 Terminated $CONNECT "$@" >/dev/null 2>^1Then, I ran adsl-connect, it is giving the following error:pppo /dev/pts/3.........................................LCP: timeout sending Config-Requestspppo: Timeout waiting for PADO packets.............................................................................what is the problem? Eagerly waiting for ur response.Thanx in advance.regardsarjun reddy
 

bheemarjun

Newbie
[OP]
Mar 24, 2006
3
0
I just gone thru earlier posts on this topic. Under topic"Dataone on Linux", it was written that i need to
edit this file

/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and put this there.

DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO= none
IPADDR=192.168.1.20
ONBOOT=yes
NETMASK=255.255.255.0

and restart the network..
Does this work?

regards
arjun reddy


Originally posted by bheemarjun@Mar 24 2006, 02:52 PM
Hi all,

I am facing a problem in connecting to INTERNET in LINUX mode (FEDORA CORE 3).
I am having Huawei SmartAX MT882 ADSL router from BSNL. It is working fine under WINDOWS XP.

In Linux, I ran adsl-setup and entered the neccessery info. After that I ran (as instructed) ifup ppp0 and after a minute or so got an error saying:

adsl_start: line 217: 1534 Terminated $CONNECT "$@" >/dev/null 2>^1

Then, I ran adsl-connect, it is giving the following error:

pppo /dev/pts/3
.........................................
LCP: timeout sending Config-Requests
pppo: Timeout waiting for PADO packets
.......................................
......................................

what is the problem? Eagerly waiting for ur response.
Thanx in advance.

regards
arjun reddy
[snapback]45661[/snapback]
[/quote]
 

prathapml

Mjölnir
Regulars
Aug 27, 2004
819
9
Bangalore
Originally posted by bheemarjun@Mar 24 2006, 03:32 PM
Does this work?[snapback]45671[/snapback]
[/quote]You wouldn't know it till you try it.... :blink:


Originally posted by bheemarjun@Mar 24 2006, 02:52 PM
what is the problem?[snapback]45661[/snapback]
[/quote]The old version of fedora that you're running!
Core5 has the relevant packages updated. Run "rp-pppoe"
 


raffimd

Newbie
Oct 7, 2006
9
0
HI, I have moved from Windows 2000 to Linux Fedora Core 4.BSNL broadband connection worked fine in Windows 2000 and it is also working fine in Windows XP(my laptop). I have problem in Linux Fedora Core 4. There are 2 ways to establish the connection from ADSL modem MT882 right? 1) Ethernet and 2) USB 1) First I tried with the Ethernet connection, Fedora Core 4 is not detecting the hardware automatically.I Could not see the hardware entry in the "Desktop > System Settings > Network" Screen.I have Realtek 8139 Lan Card. If I add the harware manually and add the device manually with the respective driver, I could not activate it.I get an error "seems dost not exist, delaying Initialization".2)Then I tried the USB connection, luckily Fedora Core 4 detected the hardware automatically this time.I added a device for this hardware and set the IP for it instaed of fetching automatically from DHCP.I could activate the device, but I could not ping 192.168.1.1 and I could not access internet :(Then I thought let me intall the USB driver software that came along with the modem.Looks like the driver is written for kernel 2.4, I have 2.6.11 in Fedora Core 4 :(.I do not want to downgrade the kernel version.Now I am thinking what to do...1) Buy another Lan Card assuming that will be detected by Fedora Core 4 and everything will go smooth...2) Downgrade the kernel to 2.4 and install the USB driver that came with the modem or look for the USB driver for the kernel 2.6.11I appreciate your help on this to configure my desktop in Linux....Thanks in Advance...Raffi
 

raffimd

Newbie
Oct 7, 2006
9
0
Seshu, Thanks for the quick response.Unfortunately, that driver is for Intex - sc92031 , not Advik - Realtek 8139 ...Thanks,Raffi
 


harman163

Newbie
Regulars
Sep 10, 2006
54
0
QUOTE(raffimd @ Oct 7 2006, 02:09 PM) [snapback]64407[/snapback]
Seshu,
Thanks for the quick response.
Unfortunately, that driver is for Intex - sc92031 , not Advik - Realtek 8139 ...

Thanks,
Raffi [/b]
Realtek 8139 drivers at www.realtek.com.tw are for kernel 2.4,the kernel 2.6.x should be able to detect rtl 8139 chipset.
 

raffimd

Newbie
Oct 7, 2006
9
0
QUOTE(harman163 @ Oct 7 2006, 04:34 PM) [snapback]64418[/snapback]
Realtek 8139 drivers at www.realtek.com.tw are for kernel 2.4,the kernel 2.6.x should be able to detect rtl 8139 chipset.
[/b]

I am downloading Fedora Core 5, hope that gets complete by tommorrow.
Will try to setup with FC5.
 

vichitra

Newbie
Jun 5, 2006
46
0
QUOTE(raffimd @ Oct 7 2006, 02:09 PM) [snapback]64407[/snapback]
Seshu,
Thanks for the quick response.
Unfortunately, that driver is for Intex - sc92031 , not Advik - Realtek 8139 ...

Thanks,
Raffi
[/b]

RTL8139 has native driver in kernel.org repo, try 8139too or 8139cp.
Beware intex and some other vendors sell totally different chipset based card
as RTL8139 based one, but in real underlying chipset is different.


QUOTE(raffimd @ Oct 7 2006, 01:26 PM) [snapback]64403[/snapback]
I have problem in Linux Fedora Core 4. There are 2 ways to establish the connection from ADSL modem MT882 right? 1) Ethernet and 2) USB
[/b]

Stick to ETHERNET based solution

1)
First I tried with the Ethernet connection, Fedora Core 4 is not detecting the hardware automatically.
I Could not see the hardware entry in the "Desktop > System Settings > Network" Screen.
I have Realtek 8139 Lan Card. If I add the harware manually and add the device manually with the respective driver, I could not activate it.
I get an error "seems dost not exist, delaying Initialization".
[/b]

Strange FC4 does have driver for RTL8139 based ETHERNET card, I suspect you having a card that been sold as RTL8138 based but having completely different chipset.

Could you please paste the output of command
lspci -vv -xx

You have to be root to execute above command.
 

bsnluser

Regular
Regulars
Jul 25, 2006
138
1
QUOTE(vichitra @ Oct 7 2006, 07:10 PM) [snapback]64431[/snapback]

Could you please paste the output of command
lspci -vv -xx

You have to be root to execute above command.
[/b]

This is most sensible suggestion. However, you do not need to be root to run this command (just tried this on Debian).

Next, you should also paste the output of the following command ($> means the command prompt)
$> ifconfig -a

You may need to be root to run this though. Or try "/sbin/ifconfig" instead of just "ifconfig".

The realtex 8139 driver is so common that I find it very strange that your card runs with this driver and FC was not able to recognize it. The above two commands will clarify many things and we can start debugging from there.

Finally, I think you can open a GUI window to control your networking settings (after your card detection works). You should look for System->Networking in the main menu on your desktop. OR, you can run this gui from the command line using the following command:
$> network-admin

You will need root password to actually use this gui.

GL.