Does Facebook ever delete an account permanently from its servers?

Bobbyguitarist

[OP]
Regulars
Mar 4, 2013
4,026
11
Hyderabad
I had an facebook account which i deactivated some 1 and half years back.today i went to create an new account and while creating it. .i used my old gmail address. It said there's already an account with above mentioned gmail address. so i reset my password and i was amazed to see my old profile complete with my old status updates and old profile pic and old friends list. THis is after i specifically sent a request to FB to delete all my data on their servers one and half years back. this is very creepy :/ So does FB ever deletes data from their servers!?
 

Samuel

Regulars
Nov 7, 2010
6,337
189
Delhi/NCR
They never delete your data from their servers. Never.They know you are going to come back to Facebook one day or the other.
 

Bobbyguitarist

[OP]
Regulars
Mar 4, 2013
4,026
11
Hyderabad
they gave a grace period of 14 days if i remember correctly, to delete all the data from their servers! I didnt even login after deleting it. so how can they still keep the data untouched? :d
 


mhsabir

Xclusive
Regulars
Oct 7, 2006
19,739
2,587
Chennai
They never delete your data from their servers. Never.

They know you are going to come back to Facebook one day or the other.

Agree with the never delete part. Though it is more likely for legal purposes and so forth.
Though need to go through their policies and similar sites in detail, they have probably had a clause which will allow them to store the information permenantly, and their liability is limited to hiding it from general public
 

Bobbyguitarist

[OP]
Regulars
Mar 4, 2013
4,026
11
Hyderabad
Deactivate = Delete ?
deactivate means the account will be deactivated i.e all ur friends wont see ur profile and all ur comments will be deleted.

Delete means asking fb to delete my account data from their servers permanently. for deleting they give a grace period of 14 days where if we login even once to fb on those 14 days the delete request will be discarded
 


Sushubh

Administrator
Oct 29, 2004
419,655
13,070
Gurugram
best thing is to do is to remove as much information as possible from the account. add in junk data like junk email address and other information. and then try to delete it. facebook would still have the archived data though i bet.
 

ulysses

Regular
Regulars
Feb 25, 2011
432
2
They never delete even though you think you have closed your a/c. After a year of closing my original FB a/c (with all family /freinds info) , I could re log in with my original email address!! Then again I closed it for good.( I know it is there in their servers but deleted all freinds /family )Now I have two active Dummy a/c 's which I use to check others !! or for corporate purposes.:solid:
 

Sushubh

Administrator
Oct 29, 2004
419,655
13,070
Gurugram
right. my current has very basic information about me. have to keep an active account because of all the third party services that i connect to through it.
 

manu1991

Ancient Philospher
Regulars
Dec 9, 2006
7,332
1,428
Delhi
Nope. they can delete. I remember, a long time ago, i wanted to delete my account. Could only deactivate it. So sent them an email and they deleted all the data. later, i had to create a new account. no info was retained.

this is the email i had sent:
Hi ,
I've recently "deactivated" my Facebook account, but cannot find a way to completely delete my account.I would like all of my information to be wiped from the facebook servers.
Please delete my account en related information in its entirety (my account email address is aaa@bbb.com), or send me instructions on how to do so myself.
I have already deleted all the information (feeds etc) from my account.

Thank you for your time,

Cheers ,
Manu

This was in 2008. maybe they have changed their policies since.
 

Similar threads