Data Card In India

abhishekrathi

Newbie
[OP]
Sep 15, 2006
1
0
Dear All,Hi .this is the first time i am writing to this group. I need help in choosing the right Data Card for me.Hutch / Idea / Airtel or Reliance (Though they do not offer good Packages.),Apart from that i need to know whether BSNL/MTNL too give this option or not.My Avg. usage would be between .75 GB to 1 GB of Download / upload.Regards,Abhishek Rathi
 

Rangoo

Newbie
Mar 28, 2007
3
0
Hi Abhishek,

Whatever you do, please SAY NO to Airtel Data Card.

The data card just does not work and the customer support is terrible. I bought the data card a month ago and sadly it hasn't worked for me for even a day. I've been back and forth with the customer support but they are pretty dumb and do not know what to do. On top of that, some of them act really rude. Overall, pretty terrible and I can say I am not going for any Airtel product EVER!

If you want to read my experience with the data card, please go to Review of Airtel Data Card.

I'll give you the gist of the review here - Save yourself a lot of trouble and don't buy an Airtel Data card. If you feel like wasting 6000 Rs., just put it in the center of your room and burn it. That would be much better than investing in the Airtel Data Card.

Hope this helps,

Rangoo
 

netfreak

Regulars
Regulars
Sep 8, 2005
2,147
14
I have been Using Airtal data card and it works just fine for me. Its paid for by office so don't know how much it costs.Thing to do is: 1. Buy just the Data card (Not the SIM) from gray market . It will cost ~900 for card without EDGE and ~2000 for card with EDGE.2. Get Postpaid SIM from MTNL, you get unlimited Data for approx 400.
 


Rangoo

Newbie
Mar 28, 2007
3
0
QUOTE(netfreak @ Mar 28 2007, 02:53 PM) [snapback]85145[/snapback]
I have been Using Airtal data card and it works just fine for me. Its paid for by office so don't know how much it costs.

Thing to do is:

1. Buy just the Data card (Not the SIM) from gray market . It will cost ~900 for card without EDGE and ~2000 for card with EDGE.
2. Get Postpaid SIM from MTNL, you get unlimited Data for approx 400.[/b]

Ah! So do you mean to say the SIM Card is the culprit? I should try changing it as you suggested.
 

netfreak

Regulars
Regulars
Sep 8, 2005
2,147
14
My guess is that Airtel Network might be poor in the area where you are trying to use the card. Do you get good speed if you put SIM on sme cell phone?I am using Airtel card on Win XP Professional on Thinkpad T43 and T60.
 

Rangoo

Newbie
Mar 28, 2007
3
0
QUOTE(netfreak @ Mar 28 2007, 04:05 PM) [snapback]85148[/snapback]
My guess is that Airtel Network might be poor in the area where you are trying to use the card. Do you get good speed if you put SIM on sme cell phone?

I am using Airtel card on Win XP Professional on Thinkpad T43 and T60.[/b]

Actually I do - When I put in the SIM in my cell phone, it gives 5 band signal and when I put it in the data card, the signal strength is just 1 or at max 2. Have you ever seen this problem? I have a Thinkpad T43P.
 


netfreak

Regulars
Regulars
Sep 8, 2005
2,147
14
Number of bands in cell phone is not a good indicator of network strength. There are "pockets" in my home where I get 4 bars in cell, but EDGE does not work in cell or laptop. To check network strength you will need to enable "network monitor" on your cell.On the other hand, network strength reported by Data card is more accurate. What strength do you see when you take cursor over Data card's icon in task bar (lower right corner in screen)?
 

arr

Newbie
Apr 19, 2007
18
0
it seems that you are only one who is giving a good report on using data cards? as far as i have seen, no one else have given a good feed back on it ??Another question.... are there two different kinds of data card? (like, GSM or CDMA)? if so then which is better and offer better speed ???
 

netfreak

Regulars
Regulars
Sep 8, 2005
2,147
14
GSM is better hands down.Reason is, Max speed you can get is about 144 kbps on CDMA (in India). With GSM, max speed is 230 kbps. Two things that can be reason for my positive feedback:1. Airtel network is quite strong in my area. 2. Data card has EDGE Class 11, that means speeds up to 236 kbpsActual speed is 200 kbps in my case.
 

arr

Newbie
Apr 19, 2007
18
0
GSM is better hands down.

To Netfreak:
Thanks for your information...Now I would go for a GSM data card !!

now, one more question ;)

Does data card connect with WI-FI networks ?
 

Similar threads