Computer freezes when power fails in dataone nokia siemens C2110 modem

• Thread starter Thread starter kcsray
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 13
  • Views Views 6,509

kcsray

ISP
BSNL
Hi friends, I have one peculiar problem. I am using BSNL broadband in my laptop. It is a ADSL connection over my BSNL landline using Nokia Siemens C2110 modem. My internet connection is working perfectly fine except that whwnever there is a power failure to the modem my computer freezes/hangs if I am connected to the internet. Then I have no other option than reboot the system as it would nt respond in any way. I am using WindowsXP SP-3, Mcafee antivirus. I am not a techie, just a general user.I searched for help, but nothing on this peculiar problem.Can anyone had similar problem or offer any help on this issue. I will be grateful. Thanks.

are you using USB or Ethernet Wire (LAN) to connect Modem to your PCtry updating modem drivers if using USB and update Network Adapter (LAN Card) Driver if using Ethernet

Thanks. This problem occurs when I use the ethernet/LAN wire connection not with USB connection to my Nokia siemens C2110 modem. I tried updating the drivers of my network card Broadcom 440x 10/100 integrated controller installed in my Dell laptop. But didn't help.Do you have any other idea?:dance:

@kcsray
Whenever power fails, the battery back up
in your laptop restores the system. As USB
draws power from laptop your Internet
connection is maintained.
2. The external modem is affected because
if the power/voltage variation surge is about
24 ms . The modem has to be restarted.
Even if an UPS is used this can happen.

3. Confirm 1 above. Un-check unwanted
resident applications appearing in task bar.
Download this program Ccleaner from
www.filehippo.com to delete temp files/cache
etc. ( Safe to use ) .
Avoiding more technical jargon!