Please advise if I should get Airtel ? and which router/modem?

• Thread starter Thread starter fullback
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 6
  • Views Views 4,617
ISP
MTNL Triband
Hi all,
I stay in Thakur Village, Kandivali (E), Mumbai. I have been using MTNL triband for the past 3 months, and I am frustrated. I used to have Hathway as well, but had billing problems with them as well.
Long story short, I am contemplating Airtel broadband - "New Turbo 25GB ( 4mbps - upto 25GB - 512kbps later @1199/-pm).
My questions:
1. How is the performance of Airtel broadband in Thakur Village/kandivali ?. I have been reading mixed reviews and confused how will it perform in the area where I stay.
2. I have a 4BHK, and I was thinking of getting TP-Link TD-8968 Modem Router. Will it work with Airtel?
The reason I am thinking of purchasing this, inspite Airtel guys saying I will get a free wifi router is because I want good coverage throughout my house.
I am confused between 3 models :
https://www.flipkart.com/router/compare?ids=RTRD4KY4UNGYCZFG,RTRDET9AGHDZE6HM,RTRDGGQ754BDWH7UWhich one should I buy? Or should I stick with the free one, and only buy if not satisfied with the free one?
3. What does the antenna capacity - MIMO/3dbi/5dbi compare when coverage is concerned. Which is better?
Thanks.

Why?! When you have mtnl, why even think of airtel.

Well, the MTNL triband keeps disconnecting every 5 minutes. I had raised a complaint , the technician came and checked the line, and it was working fine for a couple days, and back to the same old story again.
I just don't have the patience and time to keep following up on something like an internet connection. I need a solution which works reliably, when I need it. Hathway was good in that respect, but I had a fallout with them when I discovered that they were incorrectly charging me. I do not want to continue with them on an ethical ground. When I know they have tried to cheat me once, I can never trust them again.