URGENT!! need help regarding new mtnl wifi connection

speedjunk

Newbie
[OP]
Jan 6, 2012
5
0
guys i am about to get a new.mtnl wifi connection i have to purchase the modem myself..now please help me what to buy i want to use internet on my laptop and connect other wifi enabled devices...please suggest what sort of modem i need to buy ???
 

x720

Incoherent Poster
Regulars
Aug 14, 2011
10,440
1,527
Gurgaon | Mumbai
Sure, are you looking for a modem router combo or have you got a modem already and just need a router ? Also, do state your budget :)
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
(a)Buy a 3-in one model having Adsl modem +4lanport +wifi router( Examples Ib Baton WR6111A /TPLINKW8901G/ TrendNetHG520/Beetel 450TCIBinatone Wifi modelDTW845W utstar WA3002_g1 etc all almost similar.(b)ASUS DSL N10 with a better Antenna gain 5 dBi( greater range expected )
 


speedjunk

Newbie
[OP]
Jan 6, 2012
5
0
thats what i am asking i mean i dont have anything right now do i buy router or modem or router+modemi will be connecting wifi enabled laptop...what does mtnl provide?
 

x720

Incoherent Poster
Regulars
Aug 14, 2011
10,440
1,527
Gurgaon | Mumbai
You can connect your laptop via wifi using both methods. mtnl provides a modem router combo, as well as a standalone adsl modem (cheaper). I use a standalone adsl modem (beetel 110tc1) and a wifi router. how big is your place ?
 

speedjunk

Newbie
[OP]
Jan 6, 2012
5
0
so what do i get now router or modem i have heard about d link should i ask for wifi modem or wifi router or somthng else?i think wifi router is required for connecting desktop and for wifi enablrd devices wifi modem.is fine is it true???correct me and advice fast as the technician would come anytime soon...
 

x720

Incoherent Poster
Regulars
Aug 14, 2011
10,440
1,527
Gurgaon | Mumbai
Just get ask him for a wifi modem router combo, easiest way out. If he only has a modem , then you'll need to buy a wifi router separately.
 

speedjunk

Newbie
[OP]
Jan 6, 2012
5
0
alright guys i have got dlink 2730 now how do i add security to prevent unauthorised access?
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
Check my Sticky Post WA3002_g4 quick reference. ( similar models )Enable security key wpa tsk etc or enter MAC address/es in white list.Check the WIFI reception around the house and outside and reposition router/antennato reduce signals outside your house /Flat.