Internet taking 5 minutes to 1 hour to connect

romanticking20201900

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Dec 25, 2007
79
0
Hi everyone I am facing weird problem My internet connection is taking 5 minutes to 1 hour to connect Power led is on and lan led is on the dsl led gets connected and all the leds will flash and stop except power this is happening with in the range of 5 minutes to 1 hour while connecting to dsl it is taking lot of time,once connected the connection is stable for more than 24 hours.I am not having any disconnections.I am on 750ul plan is it modem fault? adapter fault?line fault?I think my modem is fine as once the connection is connected I can use the internet for more than 20+ hours no disconnections If adapter is faulty is this kind of situation possible?Thanks
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
Give details of your modem model/make/number.
How long you are using the unit ?
adapter suspect:
What is the power out put marked in adapter ? AC or DC and current rating.
Try a replacement adapter and observing polarity if D.C output.
Modem /line Suspect
If possible copy/paste SNR/ATTN data (from Deviceinfo/Statistics/ADSL menu usually).
 

romanticking20201900

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Dec 25, 2007
79
0
My modem is nokia siemens 1600it has been 20 months nearly I am using this modemDC=12VADSL information
Mode:ADSL2
Line Coding:Trellis On
Status:No Defect
Link Power State:L0
DownstreamUpstream
SNR Margin (dB):8.417.7
Attenuation (dB):26.014.4
Output Power (dBm):12.319.5
Attainable Rate (Kbps):118671331
Rate (Kbps):11042861
Now after power cut when i turn on the computer the modem boot within 1 minute and the connection is also stable
 


essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
ADSL2
( *Uncheck adsl2+ adsl2 buttons Bitswap enabled. )
Downstream Upstream
SNR Margin (dB): 8.4 17.7 (* D/L should increase)
Attenuation (dB): 26.0 14.4 (*D/L should decrease)
Output Power (dBm): 12.3 19.5
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 11867 1331
Rate (Kbps): 11042 861 ( *seems unusual)
2.
Now after power cut when i turn on the computer
the modem boot within 1 minute and the connection is also stable
Mention your tariff plan, and same data above recheck. after mod mode selected GDMT.
( Delete previous post rest of data to avoid scrolling page. )
 

romanticking20201900

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Dec 25, 2007
79
0
ADSL2 ( *Uncheck adsl2+ adsl2 buttons Bitswap enabled. )
Downstream Upstream
SNR Margin (dB): 8.4 17.7 (* D/L should increase)
Attenuation (dB): 26.0 14.4 (*D/L should decrease)
Output Power (dBm): 12.3 19.5
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 11867 1331
Rate (Kbps): 11042 861 ( *seems unusual)
2.



I didnot understand what you mean by uncheck adsl2+?

My plan is UL 750
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
Advanced options DSL
mod modes
Uncheck buttons. SAVE reboot wait for 2 minutes.
Recheck .
Expect only GDMT to be selected for a stable connection.
Beetel110BXi ( similar board) Home 750 now
Mode: G.DMT
SNR Margin (dB): 33.0 25.0
Attenuation (dB): 13.0 9.0
Output Power (dBm): 9.2 17.3
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 12416 1296
Rate (Kbps): 2048 512
 


xtc

Newbie
Regulars
Aug 8, 2009
450
53
The modem is faulty. I had exactly the same problem.Very long time to connect but after power cut of 1-2 mins, reconnect is very fast.
 

ExOblivione

Newbie
Regulars
Nov 14, 2011
64
3
It could be the adapter as well. I had the same problem a few months ago with my MT882. The modem kept trying to connect, but it wasn't able to. Sometimes it would succeed after a few tries, other times it would take ages. I initially thought that my modem had died, but, just on a hunch, borrowed the adapter from a similar modem from a friend. That fixed the problem. Bought a new adapter, one with a higher amperage than the previous one, and it's been perfectly fine since.
 

romanticking20201900

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Dec 25, 2007
79
0
@essbebe i had done wat u have said but still the problem exists2 days ago i find temporary solution it is i must remove the adapter pin and connect it again to get the connection within 3-5 minutes,by doing this i am connecting faster than before.any other solutions plsis it adapter problem?should i change adapter?thanks
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
Give snr attn data as given in Post No 7.Probably your line conditions are poor/intermittent/ old rusty etc.As suggested , you can try a new power adapter.or test your modem+adapter in a friend's house. Fault points:1.Exchange == 2.BSNL port Jn ==>3 adsl splitter==> 4 Modem ( connecting cables..We can only interpret with data as above , possible reason for fault. .Splitter can be bypassed for a short duration for testing.Do you use UPS power supply ? Feedback.
 

Similar threads