Disconnections, tried all with no avail.

Nikunj93

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Jun 28, 2008
94
0
Hey guys. I am facing the troubling issue of enormous disconnections from the past 4 months :/ I am not switching to any other provider just due to BSNL's 750 plan with no FUP. Anyway, I tried everything. Checked this sticky too: http://broadbandforum.in/bsnl-broadband/70014-bsnl-broadband-troubleshoot-frequent-disconnection/

here are my line stats:

As you can see the stats are perfectly fine. The line is also fine now, apart from the ping. Once in a while the line disconnects. I have complained in numerous times. When I complain the line gets clear for a few days, and then again the same problem. The line is clear now and hence the net is working. Suddenly the line will become noisy and link will fail. Now, when the link is failing I pick up the phone to see the line completely noisy without any dial tone. But 2-3 seconds after picking up the receiver(the line is on) I see the dial tone comes and after a minute or two the link also comes and the net is stable for a while. Right now, it is working like that. I don't know what to do. I am totally frustrated with this connection. I don't know how the line gets so noisy. And after complaining it gets rectified, that means my equipment is fine? Or is the splitter/wires or anything messed up. Please guide.

Second problem: High ping. Because of this I am unable to watch online videos (not youtube, I am doing CA so I have to watch classes online) My friends with Reliance can properly see all videos but my videos keep playing with hiccups! like they are constantly buffering.
Suggest what steps can be taken by me.
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
Can try firmware upgrade. Type 192.168.1.1./look.html
You may get both FW version and software version.
.seems Beetel hardware board. 96338 series.
EXAMPLE:
系统信息

软件版本 V8.11.01.01
固件版本 3.06L.05.A2pB021g.d19d
CFE 版本 1.0.37-6.8
IP 地址 192.168.1.1
MAC 地址 00-08-5C-98-53-3E
软件编号 T2Q-0Q-001
编译日期 2006-11-17
上行速率 (Kbps) 449
下行速率 (Kbps) 1972


If you are on Dialer mode change to PPPoE "Always On" mode.
( userID/PW stored in modem wan page)
Feedback.
 


Nikunj93

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Jun 28, 2008
94
0
ϵͳÐÅÏ¢
Èí¼þ°æ±¾V89.2.01.01
Èí¼þ±àºÅTJM-86-005
´Î°æ±¾ºÅV04
SVN°æ±¾.
±àÒëÈÕÆÚWed Sep 2 10:10:43 CST 2009
¹Ì¼þ°æ±¾3.12L.BSNL_01.A2pB023k.d20k_rc2
CFE °æ±¾1.0.37-12.1
IP µØÖ·192.168.1.1
MAC µØÖ·00-25-5e-12-85-e9
ÉÏÐÐËÙÂÊ (Kbps)830
ÏÂÐÐËÙÂÊ (Kbps)6922
PVC0_35/PPPoE|0_32/Bridge|8_35/Bridge|8_81/Bridge|0_100/Bridge
Those were the required stats.I am already on ALWAYS on /PPPoE mode.
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
Would you like to try this Firmware version /
Confirm in your model advanced options NAT Virtual server/ port triggering options available.
I am using this Beetel 110BXI

系统信息

软件版本 V8.24.01.01
软件编号 T2Q-0Q-007
SVN版本 3.12L.01_India.13
编译日期 Wed Apr 16 13:12:33 CST 2008
固件版本 3.12L.01.A2pB023k.d20k_rc2
CFE 版本 1.0.37-0.7
IP 地址 192.168.1.1
MAC 地址
上行速率 (Kbps) 512
下行速率 (Kbps) 2048
 

Nikunj93

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Jun 28, 2008
94
0
do you think it's got to do with Modem firmware. I dont think so. Because the line becomes noisy every once in a while and I have to get the dial tone to fix it. Once I pickup the receiver the issue goes for a while and then again the same story.
 


Jok3r

Why So Serious ?
Regulars
Dec 1, 2010
495
3
Calcutta
when i had the landline 750 plan i had got my own router so never faced any probs. now i am using the EVDO connection since last week and for the same price i am getting 3.5 times the speed. their CC has always been the worst but lucky for me i never had any prob with speed or service related probs
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
do you think it's got to do with Modem firmware. I dont think so.
Because the line becomes noisy every once in a while and I have to get the dial tone to fix it.
Once I pickup the receiver the issue goes for a while and then again the same story.
.
I have to get the dial tone to fix it

one way to confirm Line is through to Exchange. Not conclusive. for BB connection to DSLAM in Exchange.

Intermittent line connection./ rusting/high resistance contacts/ local electrical induction/bad joints etc.
(a) telephone + Adsl BB Ok
(b) telephone Out of order Broadband working.
(c) Broadband disconnected telephone working.
(d) Both Telephone+ BB not working.
Ideal is (b) !!!. Check your ADSL splitter. Any parallel phones in other rooms/?
"Hiss" noise when BB working shows wrong connections in filter.
2.
Are you getting all options in NAT ? virtual server/Port triggering/DMZ.
( usually BSNL modifies the software).

compare my data just now home 750 512Kbps 1 Km from Exchange.
100 feet RJ11 cable from Flat Junction Box( Underground from BSNL)
]Statistics -- ADSL Beetel 110BXI

Mode: G.DMT
Type: Interleave
Line Coding: Trellis On
Status: No Defect
Link Power State: L0

Downstream Upstream
SNR Margin (dB): 32.8 24.0
Attenuation (dB): 15.0 9.5
Output Power (dBm): 9.8 17.2
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 12096 1280
Rate (Kbps): 2048 512
 

Nikunj93

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Jun 28, 2008
94
0
one way to confirm Line is through to Exchange. Not conclusive. for BB connection to DSLAM in Exchange. - I did not understand this.

Next, generally it's only the BB which disconnects and then it reconnects on it's own. This time the phone is fine.
Sometimes (frequently these days) the link comes and again goes and this repeats in a loop with no internet connection. This time the dial tone is not there, and when I pick up the receiver to check the line, after a second or two dial tone comes and it's again fine. So I guess
it is: Either this
(c) Broadband disconnected telephone working.
OR
(d) Both Telephone+ BB not working.

In nat I am getting only DMZ. For virtual server/port triggering I have to go to a specific page address (bookmarked)

My stats now:
DSL Status

Status SHOWTIME
ModeG.DMT
TypeInterleave
DownstreamUpstream
Rate (Kbps)6922 830
SNR Margin (dB)27.9 11.0
Attenuation (dB)12.0 6.5
Attainable Rate (Kbps):11110 1194
Output Power (dBm)12.3 15.8
Super Frames3084342 3084299
Super Frame Errors1292 1325

less than a KM from exchange.

How much does a new splitter cost? I am willing to invest in one since BSNL doesn't seem to care.
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
ADSL TELEPHONE PHONE RJ11 MODEM LINE SPLITTER FILTER | eBay

or try in MADAN Street Kolkata electronic computer shops. should be cheaper.

one way to confirm Line is through to Exchange.(* Check Dialtone available in PHONE)
Not conclusive. for BB connection to DSLAM in Exchange. (* BB can be Out of order.case (c) )
I did not understand this.

In nat I am getting only DMZ. For virtual server/port triggering I have to go
to a specific page address (bookmarked) (* 192.168.1.1/scprttrg.cmd?action=view
In PPPoE mode Advanced options NAT sub menu ( all three ) may appear if
192.168.1.1/main.html is typed in address bar.

As you are familiar with FW upgrade ddwrt etc try FW upgrade.
Details if needed. Check WIKI above.
 

Similar threads