Enabling Wifi To My Dataone Connection

gana4u

Newbie
[OP]
Aug 11, 2006
6
0
Hi,I'm a new user of Dataone and I have a 256kbps connection with Quidway WA1003A series modem, although during installation, the BSNL guyz said that I can connect my Laptop as well using this modem. Curently my home pc is connected to this modelm through a ADSL and USB. Although there is a antenna which is the basic need for setting up the wifi connectivity to any other PC in the same place, I'm not sure how to go about it. I tried searching for this modem from my LT by going through the wireless network setup wizard as well. I maybe doing something wrong here. Can someone help me in solving this, so that I really dont have to sit before my PC to connect to the net through my existing BB connection.Appreciate your help in this regard.Thanks,Gana
 

gana4u

Newbie
[OP]
Aug 11, 2006
6
0
QUOTE(seshu @ Aug 11 2006, 11:40 PM) [snapback]58279[/snapback]
see this Link : http://www.calcuttatelephones.com/dataoneinstall/menu.html
[/b]

Hi Seshu,

I tried upto Wireless PC configuration after putting the encryption key in modem, but got stuck there, my Laptop doesnt recognize the hex code network as a valid one, even though I used a 10 character code comprising of 0-9 and A-F only. Can you please help me in this?


Thanks,
Gana
 


seshu

Listener
Regulars
Mar 31, 2006
1,255
7
can you post the exact error message by Laptop ?
And have you been able to connect thru Laptop
without the wep security .
Also check your modem if the changes made by you are
saved or lost .

And how are you connected to the modem ? thru USB or
LAN port ? I feel that LAN port connection is best to resolve
many problems .

I understand that many dataone users have suffered for
the secured wireless connection thru this modem . some
have replaced it with another modem (MT 882) . Recently
A member has reported that he had been able to succeed
with this wa1003a .

see this thread : http://www.broadbandforum.in/Make-Ur-Wa100...nd33-t6196.html
 

gana4u

Newbie
[OP]
Aug 11, 2006
6
0
My Laptop doesn't seem to allow the new network key, I gave this key the same as what I gave as hex code.

Other than this, I dont get any error messages. After your suggestion I tried without WEP, even then it doesnt work.

Also, I'm connecting through USB only.

Please help.


Thanks,
Gana

QUOTE(seshu @ Aug 12 2006, 10:36 PM) [snapback]58355[/snapback]
can you post the exact error message by Laptop ?
And have you been able to connect thru Laptop
without the wep security .
Also check your modem if the changes made by you are
saved or lost .

And how are you connected to the modem ? thru USB or
LAN port ? I feel that LAN port connection is best to resolve
many problems .

I understand that many dataone users have suffered for
the secured wireless connection thru this modem . some
have replaced it with another modem (MT 882) . Recently
A member has reported that he had been able to succeed
with this wa1003a .

see this thread : http://www.broadbandforum.in/Make-Ur-Wa100...nd33-t6196.html
[/b]
 

seshu

Listener
Regulars
Mar 31, 2006
1,255
7
[off topic] [I sent you a pm on other community
forums (VT) where you (Gana4u) posted this query]
 


gana4u

Newbie
[OP]
Aug 11, 2006
6
0
QUOTE(seshu @ Aug 14 2006, 10:10 PM) [snapback]58541[/snapback]
[off topic] [I sent you a pm on other community
forums (VT) where you (Gana4u) posted this query]
[/b]


I think I'm closer to setting up the connection. My laptop is now able to identify a new wireless network( WA1003A Series), but when I click connect, it throws an error saying, unable to connect, because the device is not in range or something like this. Can someone help me get over this problem?


Thanks,
Gana
 

rsvd007

Newbie
Feb 1, 2011
1
0
Hi, I cant able to connect my Wireless modem WA1003A type with my Laptop .. I followed the steps that given in the site calcutta telephone service...while connecting through PPPoE Connection I get an error 678: The remote computer did not respond.... Please help me to connect thro'..Thank You...
 

essbebe

MODERATOR
Regulars
Aug 20, 2006
9,804
81
Hi,
I cant able to connect my Wireless modem WA1003A type with my Laptop .. I followed the steps that given in the site calcutta telephone service...while connecting through PPPoE Connection I get an error 678: The remote computer did not respond.... Please help me to connect thro'..
Thank You...

Error 678: Usually wrong ID or password entered.
( to check error in "Dialer" PPP mode ) suggest
in wan page uncheck "bridged" and select PPPoE/PPPoA mode
and enter ID ( without @bsnl.in ) and Password in the wan page.
SAVE REBOOT
Try again
For screen shots :
The little I know about Dataone Broadband Services offered by BSNL
mydataone.net/router/wa1003a.html