Slow DNS lookup?

adwait

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Jul 8, 2005
99
0
Hello,I am having a slow DNS lookup since today evening. ie: The speed of the net is normal once the downloading starts, but there is a long time during which the browser says "Looking up...."Anyone else experienceing this?Adwait
 

netahoy

Newbie
Aug 24, 2005
63
2
Saadi Dilli
new to mtnl, hence not much aware abt their DNS query time..... but u can also save on those precious ms by running a local DNS caching server... and would be of great help in curbing a lot many spyware/malacious activities etc
try DNSkong.. if not used yet.. pretty old proggy and works real well....
http://www.pyrenean.com/dnsk.php

play a little and u cud have a system wide Firefox Adblock type feature running.

connected
nHnH
 

adwait

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Jul 8, 2005
99
0
I am already running a local DNS caching server (bind), but the cache is lasts only so long as the PC is on. Also, the first time theres a delay, after that the entry gets cached......so the query time of the actual DNS is rather important.
 

netahoy

Newbie
Aug 24, 2005
63
2
Saadi Dilli
hmmm well bind is good, but if u are loosing the cached entries on reboot then.. well .. i guess u are on *nix.. must be having many DNS caching apps .. dunno much on that platform
 


delhiboy1000

Regular
Regulars
Aug 4, 2005
221
16
Originally posted by netahoy@Aug 24 2005, 11:23 PM
new to mtnl, hence not much aware abt their DNS query time..... but u can also save on those precious ms by running a local DNS caching server... and would be of great help in curbing a lot many spyware/malacious activities etc
try DNSkong.. if not used yet.. pretty old proggy and works real well....
http://www.pyrenean.com/dnsk.php



I installed DNS Kong.. Now i dont hav to configure it or anything ??Just let it run?
 

adwait

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Jul 8, 2005
99
0
I am guessing you'll have to change your primary DNS to 127.0.1 and set the seconday DNS to the one of MTNL, so it will try looking it up in your local server......and then go to MTNL, if it can't find anything on your local server.
 

adwait

Newbie
[OP]
Regulars
Jul 8, 2005
99
0
Originally posted by netahoy@Aug 24 2005, 11:23 PM
hmmm well bind is good, but if u are loosing the cached entries on reboot then.. well .. i guess u are on *nix.. must be having many DNS caching apps .. dunno much on that platform
[snapback]23077[/snapback]
[/quote]
Yeah, I am on linux. You said IF I am losing cached entries on reboot, I must be Linux...........does that mean that the windows program you suggested caches the entries, and doesn't lose them even if you reboot?
 

netahoy

Newbie
Aug 24, 2005
63
2
Saadi Dilli
ADwait:
precisly, the whole point of a caching srv would be to retain those ip mappings, and DNSkong does so... a oldie it was ment to be for when we were using dialsup to speedp the browsing. but it still works for cases like these. I am sure *nix too has man similar utils, and if am right bind too cud do so...

DelB1k:
Would suggest u read the manuls carefully.... as i had mentioned if u play and tweak it over a period of time u save a lot on DNS query.
use these too
http://www.geocities.com/yosponge/ ---> has the best ready to use filters
http://accs-net.com/hosts/DNSKong.html
http://www.pacificnet.net/~bbruce/kongintro.htm
use G for more stepbystep solutions
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
IBF Brands 1
P BSNL Broadband 11

Similar threads