Is BSNL FTTH worth it?

• Thread starter Thread starter anand777
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 8
  • Views Views 3,315
ISP
BSNL
I have been using a local broadband( Asianet) for the last 8 years . I am now using a plan where I have to pay Rs 1100 for 50 Mbps speed. The main issue with this connection is that they provide abysmal speeds ( less than 5 Mbps) at peak usage hours( 7 to 12 PM). I now have BSNL FTTH in my area. I am planning a switch to 1277 plan. I need feedback from users if it's worth it ? Does BSNL also suffer from the same issue? How much speeds can we expect at peak usage hours ? I will primarily be using it to stream Netflix at 4k.

@anand777 full speed 24x7 and no downtime for me. Connection is provided thru LCO for me

Upvote 0
Having lot of problems since installation. Using since November 2018:

1. Speed issues, has been 10-15 mbps on a 50mbps plan. This has happened 30% of the time since I have had the connection.
2. One time the network went down, it was coming back up and again going down for almost 7 days after that it became stable.
3. It works good until it goes down, once it's down and you file a complaint these people will take 3-4 days to resolve it.
4. Ping issues to Singapore being 250-300 ms, the local technicians don't understand what I am saying they just ask me to contact NIB department. I had mailed them the issue on Nov 30th 2018, since then either they don't respond, or the concerned employee is not available on the table. When I get hold of them they just say "we are working on it" and are not even ready to understand the issue.

BSNL has a good infrastructure but third class service. Don't ever go for it if you have a choice. If you don't then its totally on your luck how are the employees at your place.

Upvote 0