I am new in Bangalore - Can ACT give paid static public IP that we can configure on our routers ?

• Thread starter Thread starter kichuku
  • Start date Start date
  • Replies Replies 5
  • Views Views 9,826

Are you using public static IP with ACT fibernet? If so, does WAN port of your router has public IP?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
I am new to Bangalore. I have around 5 servers hosted from my Raspberry Pi and single board PCs. These for my personal use only. And I need port forwarding for all those servers. In Pune, I was using Tata DoCoMo and I used to get public IP directly on my router and it was working perfectly fine with dynamic dns running on my D-Link router.

Now that I have moved to Bangalore, I would like to continue to be able to access my servers from the internet. So I want to know if ACT will be suitable for that.

I had read from other posts in this forum that ACT only assigns static "private" IP, even if we ask for a static IP. i.e The router WAN port will still be having a 10.x IP address even if we pay separately for static IP. Is that true? Is there any other solution for this?

Here are my requirements

1) I want a public static IP that I can directly configure on my home router.

2) I cannot afford to pay for leased line. I can only afford home plans

3) I want to be able to do port-forwarding by myself. I shouldn't have to contact customer care everytime to configure a different port-forwarding. There are couple of reasons for it. 1) I keep changing the ports that are used. 2) I am not comfortable telling the tech support person. the exact ports that I would like to use. Yes. anyone with a port-scan tool will be able to find my open ports. But that is different that me willingly disclosing all open ports to random technical person.

If someone has already gone through this and is using public IP on their router with ACT, please please help me out.