1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

BSNL Broadband seems to have blocked SSH Port 22 on their network

Discussion in 'BSNL Broadband' started by Geegee, Aug 1, 2017.

  1. Geegee

    Geegee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am a bsnl broadband user fro the last 7-8 years, I have used other networks also, My work involves connecting to remote networks on a regular basis. Even yesterday I was able to do that, but suddenly I am unable to ssh to Amazon ec2 servers from bsnl network, I tried from my Uncles' connection also. But I am able to ssh from other networks(airtel and idea ).

    Anbody facing similar problem?. Tomorrrow I will be visting BSNL
     
  2. Sushubh

    Sushubh Administrator
    Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    378,805
    Likes Received:
    11,786
    visiting bsnl might be a futile exercise. you are unlikely to meet anyone who understands what ssh is :(
     
  3. pothi

    pothi Shhhhhh!
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hello all,

    Since this morning (August 1, 2017), I could not connect to any of my servers (VPS) using port 22 from BSNL broadband. Everything was working fine till last night (July 31, 2017).

    I either have to use an alternative port, or a VPN or any of the other providers (Jio, Airtel). Even BSNL mobile (GSM) allows port 22. Just the BSNL Broadband declines port 22.

    I believe it is an important port especially for IoT devices or for home / office automation. Not sure why BSNL does this, if it is permanent.

    I guess the mass hacking of BSNL / MTNL modems let them to block port 22. I hope this is only temporary.

    Btw, I do not use the modem provided by BSNL.

    Does anyone else have the same issue?
     
    harisbaabte and Geegee like this.
  4. Sushubh

    Sushubh Administrator
    Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    378,805
    Likes Received:
    11,786
  5. Geegee

    Geegee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I will update you guys about the outcome:). I like to know if anybody else facing similar issue
     
  6. Sushubh

    Sushubh Administrator
    Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    378,805
    Likes Received:
    11,786
    i merged another thread with this one. another user @pothi just posted about the same issue.
     
    pothi and Geegee like this.
  7. Geegee

    Geegee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am facing this same issue, I am from kerala, where you from?
     
  8. Soham Pal

    Soham Pal Newbie
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    17
    Can confirm, doesn't work in Karantaka either.
    (Tested and works on Jio.)
     
    Geegee likes this.
  9. pothi

    pothi Shhhhhh!
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    17
    Tamilnadu.
     
  10. worried_guy

    worried_guy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's blocked in Kolkata too today, and was working fine yesterday.