How to connect Set top box with old TV set?

Discussion in 'My Television Connection' started by wecaz, Apr 11, 2017.

  1. wecaz

    wecaz Traveller
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    11
    My cable TV operator is providing hathway set top box that have 3 pin connectors (as shown in image). One pin for video and 2 pins for audio.

    I have an old TV set. As AV-Input, it has only 2 sockets.

    There is no way to test the setup without paying and getting Cable connection installed.

    What if I take the connection and connect
    video pin to video input socket
    one of the two audio pins to only audio input socket?

    I might get single channel audio, but is there any other limitation? I am not sure if such connection works.

    Please advise.


    .
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Nishant

    Nishant ::IBF Addict::
    Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,715
    Likes Received:
    2,217
    Single channel audio is the only limitation. Maybe check the settings of STB, it might have an option to change audio output to mono so that you will not miss anything from the audio channel not connected to the TV.
     
    mhsabir likes this.
  3. mhsabir

    mhsabir Xclusive
    Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    2,530
    Yes. Only one of the two audio will go in. The same worked for Videocon D2h connected to an old TV with two pins.
     
  4. wecaz

    wecaz Traveller
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    11
    @mhsabir @Nishant Thanks

    So, I can conclude that I might miss one of the two channels of audio, but I can surely watch TV with video and audio. Correct?

    I should get the connection then :)
     
  5. Saurabh Srivastava

    Saurabh Srivastava Well-Known Member
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    152
    @wecaz Do you have DVD player at home? If not borrow it from any of your friend. DVD player must have 3-pin output system so connect only one audio jack to your TV and check if both the speakers are working or not.
    I too have an old TV(bought in 2005) it has 3-pin system and its speaker offer surround sound if both audio pins are connected and it provides mono output if only one pin is connected.
     
  6. DNA_Uncut

    DNA_Uncut Regular
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    157
    You may use an external speaker for the audio.
     
  7. wecaz

    wecaz Traveller
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    11
    This is what I did:
    connected video pin to video input socket
    connected one of the two audio pins to only audio input socket

    And it works :)
     
    mhsabir likes this.