1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High Ping Recently & Suggested ISP Options?

Discussion in 'Suggest a Broadband Connection' started by Satyabrat Sukla, Jan 23, 2017.

  1. Satyabrat Sukla

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!
    I live in Paryavaran Complex, Neb Sarai, Saket, New Delhi 110030.

    For the past 2 years I have been using a local internet provider called Rocknet. It is a 2Mbps unlimited plan for 1500 a month (see attached image), and my experience with this connection has been wonderful. It is TRULY unlimited, I have witnessed very little downtime in the past two years, and their customer care, although a little slow, has been helpful since it is a local provider.

    I play League of Legends on the Garena Server (Singapore Server) and up until recently I used to have 80 - 90 ping. Ever since Cyclone Vardah, the ping has been at a constant 200 - 250 and I have been experiencing heavy packet loss. I used PingPlotter to ping the server IP in Singapore and have attached an image with the results. It has been over a month and the ping has not returned to normal, and due to the fact that I am a heavy gamer, I am looking to switch ISP's, and that is why I am posting this thread.

    Budget : 2000 per month
    Plan : Unlimited or 150 - 200 GB FUP
    Speed : 50 - 100 Mbps
    Post FUP Speed : 2mbps

    Please suggest an ISP for Saket , South Delhi. I have looked into Airtel and they do not provide a wired connection to this area.


    Speedtest (SpeedTest)
    PingPlotter Test (PingPlotter Test)
     
    #1 Satyabrat Sukla, Jan 23, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2017
  2. kRuSnIk

    kRuSnIk Silent Lurker
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    6
    The issue is due to undersea cable cut. I can see in the image that it follows Airtel routing which means your ISP gets bandwidth form Airtel. My ISP does the same and my ping jumps on the same IP as seen in the screenshots. Btw, I'm from Bihar.
     
  3. Satyabrat Sukla

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    @kRuSnIk , Thank you for the quick response!
    I see, and how would we go about trying to fix this? I suppose we cant do anything from our end to fix it? :frown:
     
  4. vishalrao

    vishalrao The Global Village Idiot
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,119
    Likes Received:
    101
    @kRuSnIk where did you come to know of undersea cable cut? is it still in progress or known when it will be resolved?
     
  5. Funkatronic

    Funkatronic Casual Gentleman
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    27
    @vishalrao, the last cyclone cut the TIC and i2i cables, if you google you'll see the related news (strangely the Tata cut is only being reported on bangaleshi websites, but can confirm cause since jan my pings to Blizzard SG has gone from 80 to 300) TraceRT shows they are routing all their traffic via Mumbai to EU and forward as opposed to Chennai and to SG direct.

    No idea about any repair work though, Tata refuses to connect me to their NOC and their Customer Care is pretty laughable, at best.

    Some links for reference:
    Vardah damages undersea cable, internet slows down - Times of India

    Linode: Major cuts to several submarine cables to Singapore
     
    vishalrao likes this.
  6. AgentX

    AgentX The Secret Agent
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    45
    I can confirm there are issues with the Tata Indicom cable (TIISCS err). However, Airtel's i2i is perfectly fine and is operational as of this time, so if your connection is going through Airtel then I guess you need to complain? Here's a trace-route to the same IP.

    Tata's ETR seems to be end of this month (or week) but I can attest to their NOC folks not being talkative to indirect customers. I got my ETR from Azure who's also affected and apparently are singled homed which is stupid but I guess that's for another discussion.
     
  7. Satyabrat Sukla

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Funkatronic
    So us gamers are basically screwed?
     
  8. Funkatronic

    Funkatronic Casual Gentleman
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    27
    End of the month eh? I wish their NOC was as open as Airtels used to be. Anyway, here's my tracert from Pune to one of the AWS SG EC2's
    As you can see, they do take a really long route around.
    Btw @AgentX, should Azure or other enterprises be routed via SEAMEWE4? Considering Tata partly owns that one too?

     
  9. AgentX

    AgentX The Secret Agent
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    45
    Azure and others are probably on SEAMEWE4 @Funkatronic as the trace goes via Mumbai (albeit it looks like their own internal network). It's still better than yours which is going all over everywhere. Reminds me of BSNL..

    Edit: Article mentioning same ETR as I said earlier :
    Repair work slows down Internet service

    Edit2: I don't know why they're not using the Chennai part of SEAMEWE4. Something wrong there? Guess we'll never know.
     
  10. Satyabrat Sukla

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    @AgentX @Funkatronic
    Oh my god I'm such a noob, I don't understand all these techy terms :'(

    Could you guys simply explain if this problem might be solved soon? Will switching ISP's help?