1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

iPhone Europe model with India 4G

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices' started by wecaz, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. wecaz

    wecaz Traveller
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hello friends,

    A friend has brought a new iPhone 5s from Europe.[5s cheaper then 7 :p] The phone is not in India yet.
    We are wondering if it can be used with 4G networks in India. How can we fix, if it cannot.

    I have done some study. I will appreciate if someone can throw more light.
    Below is the differences in the LTE bands.

    iPhone 5s - Europe model - A1457
    1(2100), 2(1900), 3(1800), 5(850), 7(2600), 8(900), 20(800)

    iPhone 5s - India model - A1530
    1(2100), 2(1900), 3(1800), 5(850), 7(2600), 8(900), 20(800), 38(2600), 39(1900), 40(2300)

    Compatibility with Indian 4G operators:
    1. Airtel uses LTE band 40(2300). Europe model shouldn't connect.
    2. Aircel also uses LTE band 40(2300). Europe model shouldn't connect.
    3. Vodafone uses LTE band 3(1800). Europe model should connect.
    4. Idea will use LTE band 3(1800). Europe model should connect.
    5. Reliance Jio uses bands 3(1800), 5(850) and 40(2300) [At the same time, everywhere??]. Europe model supports band 3(1800) and 5(850), but not band 40(2300). It should connect, right? [even without band 40 high speeds].

    Does anyone know if iPhone uses the same hardware in different country specific models? If yes, then, may be service center can help ENABLE the 4G bands, such as 40(2300), that are hidden in a model.
     
  2. amish

    amish Star gazer
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    23,028
    Likes Received:
    859
    If model supported 38, 39 and 40 why wud they disable it? (restricted by laws?)
     
  3. Sushubh

    Sushubh Administrator
    Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    365,147
    Likes Received:
    11,362
    It is most likely due to different radio chips used on the different variants. Apple gains nothing by blocking bands on their phones. And their phones tend to have support for most bands compared to competitive devices as they only launch 1-2-3 model(s) per year. People travel abroad so it is better to have as many bands supported as possible even if they are not used in the targeted market.
     
  4. wecaz

    wecaz Traveller
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    9
    #4 wecaz, Sep 25, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2016
  5. Sushubh

    Sushubh Administrator
    Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    365,147
    Likes Received:
    11,362
    This sounds like carrier locked Android devices. Apple does not give as much control to carriers as other companies. Anyhow. Good luck.
     
  6. Saksham_Jain

    Saksham_Jain Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Make sure you're smart and alert 24/7 to protect your iPhone from theft. Insurance Companies won't give you anything incase of theft or loss
     
  7. igloo

    igloo Not just Internet.
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,913
    Likes Received:
    371
    Phone is compatible with Airtel in selected circles and JIO,voda,Idea is all circles.
    However you won't get full speed as max capacity is in 2300mhz/band 40. so 3G like speeds mostly.
    Still not that bad.
     
  8. wecaz

    wecaz Traveller
    Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    9
    It means that operators provide multiple bands in each area. Why do they do that?