Two wireless modems on a single connection?

Discussion in 'MTNL Broadband' started by DevilSalil, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. DevilSalil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    HiI have an MTNL broadband conneciton at home with a wireless modem. The problem is that the wirelss modem is in one room.. and the signal does not reach in the other rooms. All 3 bedrooms have the sockets for phone connection and I have to physically move the wireless modem to the other rooms for the internet to work there, defeating the wholepurpose of a wireless mdoem. I have tried making signal boosters, but hardly of any use since the layout of the house does not allow the signal to reach the other rooms and placing the modem at a central location isn't possible as well.Is there a way of connecting 2 wireless modems that can be connected on two different sockets of the same phone line in different rooms and both connect to the internet using the same broadband connection. Or is there any other way by which I can solve this problem?ThanksSalil
     
    #1




  2. satellite.system Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi salil how yo uare fine i read your prob i give you some tips i think its use abale for you you need access point . for send signel for other rooms from your wirless modem there is Ethernet port there. from your modem port you take one Ethernet wire and give in your access point then you can extend your signel and range in some access point there is opp you can link point2point through wirless and no need Ethernet . one more opp there there in market one device 2 pes set you can use in same home and room its work like that you need give device in yor electric socket from where you have modem and from your modem one Ethernet wire go in your device one side work complete now 2nd where you need signel in other room same device 2nd part you put that room on socket in both devive Ethernet jack there from 2nd room its depend on you .you want use with wire if you want use with wire you take one Ethernet wire and put in device jack and 2nd end in your pc Ethernet port .if you want use wirless then same wire witch end going in your pc same end you remove from pc and give in access point then you can use wirless hope its use full for you bye bye with best reg ABBAS DUBAI UAE
     
    #2
  3. essbebe MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,807
    Likes Received:
    80
    Is there a way of connecting 2 wireless modems that can be connected on two
    different sockets of the same phone line in different rooms and both connect to
    the internet using the same broadband connection.
    room 1:
    Phone junction ==>>> Adsl Modem=== Modem Port === ADSL modem ===>> Rj45 to wifi router
    from wifirouter room1 ===>>> rj45 from LAN1 to room 2
    room 2 WIFI router no 2 Internet port.
    from room 2 wifi router Lan 1====>>.
    room 3 rj45 to WIFI router 3 internet port. ( extra cost Rj45 cables 2 extra wifi routers approx Rs 3000 to Rs 4000 )
    Option 2 :
    Room1 same as above. ( all phones from PHOne Port )
    Room 2 new adsl splitter ( optional if Phone needed ) adsl modem wif router
    Room 3 same as above. (wifi router etc from Room No 2 )
    Extra cost adsl modem and wifi router adsl splitter Rs 3000 to Rs 4000/
    Option 3 :
    Reposition adslmodem wifi router in Room No 2.
    and check reception in laptops.
    Feedback.
    REF: "Sticky" post wa3002-g4 quick reference in BSNL forum.
     
    #3
  4. cyberwiz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,459
    Likes Received:
    34
    simplest way to do...buy two routers 2000x2 (viz whr54gs) = 4K ..flash DDWRT or tomato..use the 2nd router as repeater..requires technical expertise though :speechless:
     
    #4
  5. satellite.system Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    good cyber you give good idea but dear he is earching cheap way other wise if he is abale 2spend much onley with one accpoint he can cover alls and extend signel up too 31km so tell him easy way thx
     
    #5
  6. koolpal Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    I know I am reviving a very old thread but I am stuck with a similar problem. Can anyone help?My current setup:Hall: Main line - concealedBedroom: Parallel Line 1 - concealedStudy: Parallel Line 2 - concealed.Equipment:I have: ZyXEL P-660HW-T1 - 802.11g Wireless ADSL2+ 4-port Gateway over POTSI am planning to get: A D-link wireless router with extra antenna to increase coverage.Final setup:Hall: Wifi Router 1. No phoneBedroom: Wifi Router 2, Cordless phoneStudy: Wifi Router 3, Fixed phone instrument.My plan is to use ONLY ONE Wifi Router at any one time.Research so far:1. I am aware that I cannot use multiple wifi routers at the SAME TIME on the SAME SINGLE Line.Need help:1. How do I get the wiring connected with splitters such that my Wifi router will work at any point?2. Any other suggestion to help me achieve my final setup.Thanks a ton.
     
    #6
  7. x720 Incoherent Poster Regulars

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    7,903
    Likes Received:
    826
    How big (in sqft) is your house ?
     
    #7
  8. activity Newbie Regulars

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you need to extend a wireless network, or a wired network?You can try use a router as a wireless repeater, or a wireless bridge. I am using a WRT54G on DD-wrt as a wireless client, to extend my wired network. (However, it does not act as a wireless repeater in this mode .. )It can be setup as a wireless repeater as well .
     
    #8
  9. koolpal Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    How big (in sqft) is your house ?

    My hall is about 180 sqft
    There is a kitchen in between hall & bedroom
    My bedroom is about 120 sqft
    My study is about32 sqft.
    This study is after the bedroom & entrance is from within the bedroom.
     
    #9
  10. koolpal Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Do you need to extend a wireless network, or a wired network?

    You can try use a router as a wireless repeater, or a wireless bridge.

    I am using a WRT54G on DD-wrt as a wireless client, to extend my wired network. (However, it does not act as a wireless repeater in this mode .. )
    It can be setup as a wireless repeater as well .

    I'm looking at a wireless network. I'm not exploring a wifi repeater because most of my friends are disappointed with repeaters.

    However, can you please share product link. Will check. Thanks.
     
    #10

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)