1. Please change your bookmarks from https to http. Also clear up your HSTS!
  2. Please ensure you have read this document.

how to check whether my wifi is password protected and secured?

Discussion in 'Airtel Broadband' started by dupree, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. dupree Regular Regulars

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    121
    hey guys i just setup my wifi connection on windows 7 and want to check whether my wifi is secured and password protected coz in the pic it shows Network availability - all users, so im a bit confused with this.

    http://img130.imageshack.us/i/wifi.jpg/
     
    #1




  2. chromaniac It wasn't me. Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    196,217
    Likes Received:
    7,516
    if it requires you to enter a password before you can connect, its secured.
     
    #2
  3. dupree Regular Regulars

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    121
    i entered the password only once, i mean it asked me to enter the password only once and now whenever i select start my wifi it automatically connects
     
    #3
  4. chromaniac It wasn't me. Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    196,217
    Likes Received:
    7,516
    well yeah. it probably had the save password option enabled by default. you can of course check your router backend and change the password to make sure it is not the default one for your device.

    ----------

    you can also see all the saved networks by going here in windows 7:

    Control Panel\Network and Internet\Manage Wireless Networks
     
    #4
  5. dupree Regular Regulars

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    121
    thanks for the path it shows this
    http://img4.imageshack.us/i/24178948.jpg/

    what does type in the pic means?
     
    #5
  6. chromaniac It wasn't me. Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    196,217
    Likes Received:
    7,516
    it shows the same at my end. not sure what type means. but encryption level is pretty decent. so there is little to worry about. u can of course make it more secure.
     
    #6
  7. dupree Regular Regulars

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    121
    thanks a lot for your reply :D
     
    #7
  8. pudu123 Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    To make it even more secure, one should disable 'Broadcast SSID' in the router so that your network and the SSID is invisible to prying eyes.;)
     
    #8
  9. chromaniac It wasn't me. Moderators Regulars

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    196,217
    Likes Received:
    7,516
    actually vista and windows 7 can both show hidden networks though you still need to enter the network name.
     
    #9
  10. pudu123 Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's weird. If SSID is not being broadcast, how does Vista/7 detect a network automatically?:huh:EDIT: I guess, unknown network or something(?) will show up instead of network name. Ok. atleast SSID is not known.
     
    #10

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)